Georgia Structured Family Caregiving¶
Georgia's Structured Family Caregiving (SFC) is an Elderly and Disabled Waiver Program (EDWP) service available through CCSP and SOURCE for Medicaid waiver participants who need a nursing facility level of care and live with a family caregiver. The approved 1915(c) waiver says the enrolled agency reimburses caregivers through a per diem stipend; the caregiver may be a family caregiver living in the participant's home or the participant may move into a relative's home. Georgia's 2026 Medicaid limits list Community Care income limits of $2,982 per month for an individual and $5,964 for a couple, with a $2,000 individual resource limit. The participant must be assessed to require five or more hours of Extended Personal Support daily. The approved waiver's Year 4 financial table projects 2,921 SFC users at an average provider per diem cost/unit of $100.72, within a total EDWP Year 4 unduplicated participant count of 58,550. The waiver does not specify the net caregiver pass-through amount.
Georgia SFC supports a live-in family caregiver through an approved provider agency under the EDWP via CCSP and SOURCE. The approved waiver says the enrolled agency reimburses caregivers through a per diem stipend; it also excludes spouses, parents of minor children, and legal guardians from reimbursed SFC caregiving. Georgia's 2026 Medicaid Community Care limits list $2,982/month income and $2,000 resources for an individual, and $5,964/month income and $3,000 resources for a couple; married one-applicant cases can require spousal impoverishment review. The participant must require five or more hours of Extended Personal Support daily, and SFC providers must deliver at least 8 hours of annual caregiver training. The approved waiver's Year 4 table lists 2,921 projected SFC users and a $100.72 average provider per diem cost/unit, while total EDWP Year 4 unduplicated participants are 58,550. The waiver does not specify the net caregiver pass-through amount.
Eligibility¶
- U.S. citizenship or qualified immigrant status required
- Care recipient must have a qualifying disability
- Care recipient age: at least 21
- Must live with care recipient
Questions to ask the program¶
These are questions to ask the program, not a verdict on your eligibility. Confirm the current rules directly with the program.
- Does the person receiving care live in Georgia? — Residency is usually the first thing a program checks.
- What are the current income and asset limits, and whose income counts? — Our record lists gross monthly limit around $2,901 for a household of one — limits change, so confirm the current figures.
- Is the person receiving care in the covered age range (21 or older)?
- What counts as a qualifying disability or level of care need, and what documentation shows it?
- Which citizenship or immigration statuses does the program accept, and which documents show it?
- Do you need to live with the person receiving care, and how is that verified?
- Is there a caregiver-specific department, coordinator, or support line? Ask for it by name. — Many agencies have one that isn’t advertised on the website.
- What documents do you need from us to start an application?
- Is there a waitlist right now, and how long is it?
Services¶
Georgia SFC supports a live-in family caregiver through an approved provider agency under the EDWP via CCSP and SOURCE. The approved waiver says the enrolled agency reimburses caregivers through a per diem stipend; it also excludes spouses, parents of minor children, and legal guardians from reimbursed SFC caregiving. Georgia's 2026 Medicaid Community Care limits list $2,982/month income and $2,000 resources for an individual, and $5,964/month income and $3,000 resources for a couple; married one-applicant cases can require spousal impoverishment review. The participant must require five or more hours of Extended Personal Support daily, and SFC providers must deliver at least 8 hours of annual caregiver training. The approved waiver's Year 4 table lists 2,921 projected SFC users and a $100.72 average provider per diem cost/unit, while total EDWP Year 4 unduplicated participants are 58,550. The waiver does not specify the net caregiver pass-through amount.
How to apply¶
- Step 1: call the Area Agency on Aging toll-free at 866-552-4464 for a telephone screening of eligibility and urgency of need (DON-R score). Step 2: name placed on the waiting list. Step 3: when funds are available, the care coordination agency schedules an in-home assessment and develops a care plan. Step 4: physician certifies nursing home level of care and services start; non-Medicaid recipients apply for Medicaid at the county DFCS office
Use the official program page for application details: official program page.
Related programs¶
- medicaid (depends_on): Care recipient must be Medicaid-eligible
- hcbs-waivers (companion): SFC is available through the Georgia EDWP via CCSP and SOURCE waivers